Why do I live this way?

Posted On July 12, 2010

Filed under Misc, Why do I live this way?

Comments Dropped 6 responses

This lifestyle started when I decided to take the plunge and get into the sport of Figure and Female Bodybuilding. Watching how much my body changed and how much better I felt just by changing what I ate was amazing.  I had heard that diet is about 80 % of the “package”, but never really believed it. 

No, it was not easy at first, but making the changes got easier the longer I stuck with it.  Now I can not imagine starting my day with a bowl of cereal, having a sandwich for lunch and a big dinner full of pasta.  Don’t get me wrong. There are times I miss those things, but I have found ways to make those things healthy and delicious.  More delicious than the “normal” foods.  The foods I choose to eat are very clean. Not high in saturated fats or simple carbs. 

I like simple recipes.  Simple = success.  Our society today is about convenience and getting a “quick” fix.  With very little preparation and some proper planning, it is very easy to do and still eat clean. (there are many days when I chop up cooked chicken, throw it and some frozen veggies in a tupperware container, add some spices and head out.  No cooler needed…and it is ready to eat when I am !)

People are often amazed by how simple and tasty the things I make for them are.  They expect complex, time-consuming recipes.  Nope, not from me.  Don’t get me wrong, I do love to make an occassional meal full of ingredients….and Thanksgiving is my absolute favorite meal to make.  All of it!   But, really, who can make complex recipes everyday? 

Some say I am anal or have weird eating habits.  I am ok with that.  Yep, I do not eat like “normal” people do.  I watch what I put into my body and don’t really feel that there are any excuses for not eating healthy if that is what you want and choose to do.  I do not eat only for taste or to satisfy hunger.  My main reason for making the choices I do comes down to the fact that I eat for fuel and function.  Taste is secondary for me.  I do love to cook and coming up with new ideas for clean eats is a fun challenge. 

This is my passion!  I know not everyone will take it to the level that I do, but I still want to share my recipes and ideas for clean eating. Yes, It can be fun and tasty!  You would be surprised at the things you can make.  It never gets dull.

Everyone makes their own choices about how to live.  Eating clean and exercising every day are how I choose to live mine.  I love this life!  I love knowing that what I am eating is fuel for my mind and body and helping me to build a strong foundation!

I do not eat anything “white”, processed, high in saturated fats, or refined.  For the most part I avoid dairy as well.  I get my calcium from other sources. 

I do eat things in their natural state.  I eat nuts, flax seeds, oat bran, oatmeal, oatbran, sweet potaoes (and some other complex carbs)lean meats, fish, eggs, monosaturated fats, soy, whey, veggies, veggies and more veggies.  …and more veggies yet 😉

Yes, I do eat “artificial sweetner”…that is my one vice.  Aren’t we all entitled to something 😉

I will occasionally eat a “normal” treat…rare, but it does happen.

It may seem daunting at first, but adding one or two clean meals a day will get you on your way to a healthier, happier you!

I am up for a challenge if anyone cares to throw some ideas my way on how to make them healthy!  Bring it on!! 

So, this hasn’t been a daily tip, but I think it will do 😀

6 Responses to “Why do I live this way?”

  1. april

    I think you could have taken all of those words out of my mouth! I am the exact same way. I hardly ever have a ‘treat” because I honestly don’t see the point- it’s not fueling my body or muscles and it will only last a minute, so why bother! But I do love my walden farms..mmm! LOL

  2. fitnesscook

    I think you are a younger version of me 😀 LOVE it!!!!

    Walden farms…yummmmmm!

  3. Nadine

    I love your blurb on why you choose to eat this way! It’s what I believe too! I just made the protein brownie for dessert and it tastes so good! More power to you and keep them coming! 🙂

    • fitnesscook

      Thanks Nadine! Great minds think alike 😉 So glad you liked the brownie!!

  4. Andrea

    I’m so glad to have reconnected (remember me? from DV? lol) . It might be fate or something. I was in fantastic shape and clean clean clean before I had my kids…and something shut off in my brain. Not sure what happened. Anyway, 2 kids in 2 years destroyed not just my body, but my self image. When my husband and I met, we were both lifting every day and were A.C.E. certified trainers. How did I get to a size 16??? Fast forward ten years and today I am a size 10…but have lots more to go. I’ve lost 25 lbs in the past 5 months. I’m going super slow because my appetite is still through the roof. My hormones were a mess for a while but I’m slowly getting back on track. Thanks for writing this blog. I appreciate it!

    • fitnesscook

      It is wonderful to reconnect! I always thought you were just the cutest thing! I am so glad to have you following my blog. I am working on getting it to be a bit more interesting. I am visiting with my parents right now and plan on stepping it up when I get back to Cali…
      I completely understand how you are feeling! Know that I am here for you and will support you in any way possible!!!! This is a lifestyle that few can understand and appreciate completely. It is nice to have support!!! I know you will reach your goals! You are already on your way! *hugs*
      I appreciate you following 😉

Leave a Reply

